Home Comic Books [Preview] Fans of Action Flicks & Tokusatsu Rejoice! The SUICIDE JOCKEYS are Coming to Source Point Press

[Preview] Fans of Action Flicks & Tokusatsu Rejoice! The SUICIDE JOCKEYS are Coming to Source Point Press

by Jason Bennett
0 comment
Spread the love

Screenwriter/Ringo award-winning comic creator Rylend Grant is back on the scene with his latest project SUICIDE JOCKEYS, soon-to-be published by Source Point Press

For those unaware, Grant is a powerhouse – two hit titles published by Action Lab Entertainment, two crowdfunding campaigns during the pandemic, participating in Mid May Massacre last month, speaking at the AAPI Summit, hosting panels, and running a weekly podcast THE WRITER’S BLOCK with writer David Avallone (Elvira Mistress of the Dark, Bettie Page), you’d think the acclaimed writer would have his hands too full to keep cranking out the gems. But he does. And because of it, everyone wins.
`

RELATED: [Video Interview] “Pants Optional” – Episode III: Rylend Grant

Grant has reteamed with artist Davi Leon Dias, colorist Iwan Joko Triyono, letterer HdE, and producer RJ Hendricks (of Rising Spirit Entertainment), all of whom helped bring his Ringo award-winning political action thriller Aberrant to life. Dias, Triyono, and HdE are also featured on his successfully-funded Kickstarter campaign for THE PEACEKEEPERS.
`

RELATED: Spoiler-Free Review of THE PEACEKEEPERS #1

Rylend describes Suicide Jockeys as diverse cast Tokusatsu for the contemporary action movie fan. It’s essentially Voltron meets The Fast and the Furious… with an extra dollop of heart and soul.

The film comparisons flow freely and easily from Grant, a screenwriter by trade, with a decade’s worth of experience penning smart, character-driven action movies for the likes of JJ Abrams, Ridley Scott, Justin Linn, F. Gary Gray, and John Woo.
`

RELATED: PopCultHQ’s Green Lantern Challenge: Davi Leon Dias w/ Iwan Joko Triyono

Suicide Jockeys is a Tokusatsu comic through and through. Inspired by classic Japanese action television like Ultraman and Super Sentai, Grant teamed with Toku Expert Brad Warner, who previously worked for over a decade in Japan as an executive for Tsuburaya Productions.

“Brad is our very own Tokusatsu historian/expert. While I work to make sure Suicide Jockeys appeals to a hungry American action movie audience, he’s making sure diehard Tokusatsu fans will have an authentic experience,” says Grant.
`

RELATED: Spoiler-Free Review of ABERRANT Vol. 1 TPB

Warner and Grant also happen to be ordained Soto Zen Buddhist monks. Grant actually once taught Mike Tyson how to meditate. Warner is the best-selling author of books like Hardcore Zen and Sit Down and Shut Up.

“Our Zen practice is a major influence on Suicide Jockeys. It’s a big, poppy, action thrill ride, obviously… but we’re also wrestling with some of life’s big and hairy existential questions here. We’re just doing it in a fun, heightened way,” says Grant.

Suicide Jockeys will also feature variant covers from Fábio Alves and Edson Ferreira who were both nominated for Ringo awards for their work on Grant’s much lauded superhero noir Banjax. Banjax made a dozen critics ten-best lists in 2019 and was nominated for a total of 4 Ringo Awards including Best Series alongside Bitter Root and Something is Killing the Children.
`

RELATED: Spoiler-Free Review of BANJAX Vol. 1 TPB

COVERS

Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.


SUICIDE JOCKEYS #1

Writer: Rylend Grant
Artist: Davi Leon Dias
Colorist: Iwan Joko Triyono
Letterer: HdE

Cover Artists:
Cover A: Davi Leon Dias w/ Iwan Joko Triyono [Order Code: JUN211785]
Cover B: Fábio Alves w/ Edson Ferreira [Order Code: JUN211786]

In Shops: Aug 25, 2021
SRP: $3.99

Ten years after a catastrophic mission gone wrong, Denver Wallace, leader of the Suicide Jockeys – a poor, usually drunken, almost certainly mentally ill crew of monster-fighting, tank-and-aircraft-piloting suckers – must pick himself up off the proverbial and literal floors, slap his estranged, desperately-fractured team back together, and right what once went wrong.

PREVIEW PAGES

Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.


SUICIDE JOCKEYS #1 is currently available for pre-order at a number of online comic book retailers. The following stores have both covers available. Just click on any store’s logo to be taken directly to SUICIDE JOCKEYS on their website(s).



You can also contact your local comic shop and provide them with the order codes to secure your copies when they are released.

~ For SUICIDE JOCKEYS #1 – Cover A (main) by Dias & Triyono, use Order Code: JUN211785.

~ For SUICIDE JOCKEYS #1 – Cover B (movie poster homage variant), use Order Code: JUN211786.

Placing pre-orders are essential for comic shops, publishers, and creators to gauge interest and demand for titles. Given Grant’s history of producing high-quality visuals, engrossing storytelling, the cinematic feel of Rylend’s books, and a cohesive creative team together again for their third title, you can bet SUICIDE JOCKEYS will be a must-have for collectors and comic book fans alike. Don’t miss out and get your orders in today!


Writer – Rylend Grant

`

`

`

`

`

Artist – Davi Leon Dias

`

`

`

`

`

Colorist – Iwan Joko Triyono

`

`

`

`

`

Letterer – HdE

`

`

`

`

`

Publisher – Half Evil Comics

`

Social Media Icon - Twitter

Social Media Icon - Instagram

Social Media Icon - Web

`

`

`

`

Publisher – Source Point Press

`

`

`

`

`

You may also like