[Event] Alt FCD: A Two-Day Virtual Free Comic Day – May 1st-2nd

Alt Free Comic Day

With Free Comic Book Day postponed in the ether, Russell Nohelty of Wannabe Press and fellow creator Neo Edmund thought it would be an awesome idea to host an “alt-free comic day” filled with free digital books, tons of awesome panels, and great creators hanging out for two days, on May 1st and 2nd.

They’ll have panels by Marv Wolfman (co-creator of The Teen Titans), Kevin Eastman (co-creator of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles), Richard Starkings (creator of Elephantmen), Sandy Carpenter, and more. Plus, dozens of free comics, and the whole event is 100% free!

Snag your FREE ticket below, or follow on Twitch to get notified when they launch. They’ll be streaming live to Facebook, Twitch, and YouTube.

Alt FCD will be having panels all through the live stream filled with awesome writers and artists talking about the process of making comics, writing books, and drawing art. Below is a schedule of the artist schedules. Schedule is subject to change.

You can learn, hang out, and enjoy without ever leaving the comfort of your sweat pants and favorite chair. All times are Pacific Time, which is UTC -7 for those of you not in the USA.

At the bottom of this page is a list of all the creators participating in this convention. We’ve included a link to their store/website.

The main stage are the panels that are streamed on the Alt FCD site, along with Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and Twitch. You’ll be able to see and interact with their panels of amazing guests through their live video stream and comment feed.

Day 1 – Friday, May 1st

Keynote with Jimmy Palmiotti
9 am PDT/ 12 pm EDT

Developing an idea with Barbara Kesel and Walter Ostlie
10 am PDT/ 1 pm EDT

Writing the Script with Shannon Denton, Kelly Sue Milano, and Fabrice Sapolsky
11 am PDT/ 2 pm EDT

Keynote with Marv Wolfman
12 pm PDT/ 3 pm EDT

Finding and working with an artists with Tony Puryear and Lee Kohse
1 pm PDT/ 4 pm EDT

Revision and editing with Samantha Knapp, Joe LeFavi, and Jim Higgins
2 pm PDT /5 pm EDT

How to work with comic shops with Eddie DeAngelini, Ryan Liebowitz, and Carmelo Chimera
3 pm PDT/ 6 pm EDT

Day 2 – Saturday, May 2nd

Drawing Blood panel with Kevin Eastman, David Avallone, Ben Bishop, and Troy Little
9 am PDT/ 12 pm EDT

Social media and building a platform with Ruthann Thompson and Raena Merritt
10 am PDT/ 1 pm EDT

Getting press with Dan Wickline and Hannibal Tabu
11 am PDT/ 2 pm EDT

Keynote with Richard Starkings
12 pm PDT/ 3 pm EDT

Crushing your Kickstarter with Camilla Zhang, Roye Okupe, and Ami Goff
1 pm PDT/ 4 pm EDT

Working with Hollywood with Matt Hawkins and Jonathan Maberry
2 pm PDT/ 5 pm EDT

Keynote with Sandy Carpenter
3 pm PDT/ 6 pm EDT

The Alt FCD creator stage is happening inside their interactive Facebook group, where tons of amazing creators will be answering your questions in Reddit forum-style AMAs (ask me anythings). They won’t have video, but you can still interact with them in real time. Often the main stage guests will ALSO have an AMA in the Facebook group, too!

Day 1 – Friday, May 1st

10 am PDT/ 1 pm EDT – Jeffrey Bridges
11 am PDT/ 2 pm EDT – David Pepose
12 pm PDT/ 3 pm EDT – Nicholas Doan
1 pm PDT/ 4 pm EDT – Madeleine Holly-Rosing
2 pm PDT/ 5 pm EDT – Susan Lee
3 pm PDT/ 6 pm EDT – Austin Janowsky
4 pm PDT/ 7 pm EDT – Steve Stormoen
5 pm PDT/ 8 pm EDT – Tom Hutchison
6 pm PDT/ 9 pm EDT – Ashley Robinson and Jason Inman

Day 2 – Saturday, May 2nd

10 am PDT/ 1 pm EDT – Steven Prince
11 am PDT/ 2 pm EDT – Terrance Grace
12 pm PDT/ 3 pm EDT – Barbra Dillon
12 pm PDT/ 3 pm EDT – Ryan Claytor
1 pm PDT/ 4 pm EDT – Raena Merritt
2 pm PDT/ 5 pm EDT – Rylend Grant
3 pm PDT/ 6 pm EDT – Dillon Gilbertson
4 pm PDT/ 7 pm EDT – David Avallone
5 pm PDT/ 8 pm EDT – Karla Nappi
6 pm PDT/ 9 pm EDT – Don Nguyen
7 pm PDT/ 10 pm EDT – Allen Carter


Russell Nohelty

Russell Nohelty is a USA Today bestselling author, publisher, and speaker. He runs Wannabe Press (www.wannabepress.com), a small press that publishes weird books for weird people. Russell is the author of many novels, including four books in The Godsverse Chronicles, Sorry for Existing, Invasion, The Vessel, and My Father Didn’t Kill Himself, along with the creator of the Ichabod Jones: Monster Hunter, Gherkin Boy, Pixie Dust, and Katrina Hates the Dead graphic novels.

He also edited the Monsters and Other Scary Shit and Cthulhu is Hard to Spell anthologies, which both raised over $25,000 on Kickstarter. To date, Russell Nohelty has raised over $170,000 on Kickstarter across ten projects.

You can check out his books for yourself by joining his mailing list at www.russellnohelty.com/mail, where he’ll send you a collection of his books for free.


Neo Edmund

Neo Edmund, actor turned best-selling author, screenwriter, and comic book writer began his Hollywood career as an actor appearing on numerous television shows, most notably 100 episodes of Mighty Morphin Power Rangers.

Opting to pursue his passion for writing, Neo transitioned into the creative side of the film and TV industry. He is the author of the bestselling novel series The Red Riding Alpha Huntress Chronicles, currently in development with John Carpenter and Sandy King’s production company Storm King. His most recent works include three Power Rangers novels for Penguin Books and a new comic book series The Grimms Town Terror Tales with Storm King Comics.

He has written for companies including Hasbro, Saban, Penguin Random House, History Channel, Discovery Channel, Animal Planet, Spike TV, JumpStart Interactive, Zenescope, and most recently Storm King Productions. Find his work at http://www.neoedmund.com.

Marv Wolfman

Marv Wolfman is an American comic book and novelization writer. He worked on Marvel Comics’s The Tomb of Dracula, for which he and artist Gene Colan created the vampire-slayer Blade, and DC Comics’s The New Teen Titans and the Crisis on Infinite Earths limited series with George Pérez.

Kevin Eastman, David Avallone, Ben Bishop,
and Troy Little discussing Drawing Blood

Kevin Eastman returns to independent comics with a new creation: an inside look at the turbulent life and times of a once-successful cartoonist on the skids… Shane “Books” Bookman. Once upon a time, Books co-created THE RADICALLY REARRANGED RONIN RAGDOLLS: a gritty, funny indie comic that became a billion dollar global franchise. Now, years later, the partnership dissolved, the corporate buy-out all spent, Books is struggling to recover from the hit-and-run driver called early success… and looking for the will and the joy to create something new again. Co-created by Kevin Eastman and David Avallone (Elvira, Bettie Page). Script by David Avallone, art by Ben Bishop (The Aggregate, TMNT Macro-Series), Kevin Eastman, and Troy Little (Rick and Morty, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.)

Richard Starkings

Richard Starkings is a British font designer and comic book letterer, editor and writer. He created Elephant Men, lettered The Killing Joke, and was one of the early pioneers of computer-based comic-book lettering, and is one of the most prolific creators in that industry.

Sandy Carpenter

Sandy Carpenter is the publisher of Storm King Productions where, with her husband John Carpenter, they are curating amazing horror and other genre comics. Sandy has been working in Hollywood for decades, and Storm King Comics works with some of the absolute best names in comics.

Jimmy Palmiotti

Jimmy Palmiotti is a multi-award winning intellectual property creator and world building architect with a wide range of experience and background in advertising, production, editorial, screen writing, film production, media presentation, and video game development. Just a few of his clients include Nike, Disney, Marvel Studios, Warner Brothers, Lion’s Gate, Fox, Paramount, Dream Works, Lotus entertainment, New Line, 2KGames and THQ Nordic. Currently in film development are a number of projects created by Jimmy. Random Acts of Violence is in Post production and Back to Brooklyn and Painkiller Jane in development with Lotus Entertainment. There is also more than two weeks left on his new Kickstarter, which you can find here.

Allen Carter

Allen Carter

Ami Goff

Ami Goff

Ashley V. Robinson

Ashley V. Robinson

Austin Janowsky

Austin Janowsky

Barbara Kesel

Barbara Kesel

Barbra Dillon

Barbra Dillon

Ben Bishop

Ben Bishop

Camilla Zhang

Camilla Zhang

Carmelo Chimera

Carmelo Chimera

Dan Wickline

Dan Wickline

David Avallone

David Avallone

David Pepose

David Pepose

Dillon Gilbertson

Dillon Gilbertson

Don Nguyen

Don Nguyen

Eddie Deangelini

Eddie Deangelini

Fabrice Sapolsky

Fabrice Sapolsky

Hannibal Tabu

Hannibal Tabu

Jason Inman

Jason Inman

Jeffrey Bridges

Jeffrey Bridges

Jim Higgins

Jim Higgins

Jimmy Palmiotti

Joe LeFavi

Joe LeFavi

Jonathan Maberry

Jonathan Maberry

Karla Nappi

Karla Nappi

Kelly Sue Milano

Kelly Sue Milano

Kevin Eastman

Kevin Eastman

Lee Kohse

Lee Kohse

Madeleine Holly-Rosing

Madeleine Holly-Rosing

Marv Wolfman

Matt Hawkins

Matt Hawkins

Nicholas Doan

Nicholas Doan

Raena Merritt

Raena Merritt

Richard Starkings

Roye Okupe

Roye Okupe

RuthAnn Thompson

RuthAnn Thompson

Ryan Claytor

Ryan Claytor

Ryan Liebowitz

Ryan Liebowitz

Rylend Grant

Rylend Grant

Samantha Knapp

Samantha Knapp

Sandy Carpenter

Shannon Denton

Shannon Denton

Steve Stormoen

Steve Stormoen

Steven Prince

Steven Prince

Susan Lee

Susan Lee

Terrance Grace

Terrance Grace

Tom Hutchison

Tom Hutchison

Tony Puryear

Tony Puryear

Troy Little

Troy Little

Walter Ostlie

Walter Ostlie

~~~~~

So don’t miss out on this incredible event featuring
an amazing lineup of guests, panels, and FREEBIES!

The action begins Friday, May 1st at 9 am PDT/ 12 pm EDT!

About Jason Bennett 6589 Articles
Jason Bennett is PopCultHQ's chief editor, a contributing writer, and comic book reviewer/reporter. One with the Force. Browncoats Unite! So say we all! Follow Jason on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram: @TahoeJBennett