[Comic Book News] Dark Horse Comics Receives 13 Nods as 2018 Eisner Nominees Announced


The nominations are in for the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards 2018 and Dark Horse Comics has 13 nominations in 10 categories!

The nominees, chosen by a blue-ribbon panel of judges, reflect the wide range of material published in comics and graphic novels.

Named for acclaimed comics creator Will Eisner, the awards are in their thirtieth year of highlighting the best publications and creators in comics and graphic novels.


Best Single Issue/One-Shot:

• Hellboy: Krampusnacht, by Mike Mignola and Adam Hughes


Best Continuing Series:

• Black Hammer, by Jeff Lemire, Dean Ormston, and David Rubín


Best Adaptation from Another Medium:

• H. P. Lovecraft’s The Hound and Other Stories, adapted by Gou Tanabe, translated by Zack Davisson
• Herman Melville’s Moby Dick, adapted by Christophe Chabouté, translated by Laure Dupont


Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books:

• Will Eisner the Centennial Celebration, 1917-2017, by Paul Gravatt, Denis Kitchen, and John Lind


Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team:

• Gary Gianni, Hellboy: Into the Silent Sea


Best Lettering:

• Stan Sakai, Usagi YojimboGroo: Play of the Gods


Best Publication Design:

• Will Eisner: The Centennial Celebration, 1917-2017, designed by John Lind


Best Writer:

• Jeff Lemire, Black Hammer (Dark Horse); Descender (Image)
• Matt Kindt, Grass Kings (BOOM! Studios); Ether (Dark Horse); Eternity, X-O Manowar (Valiant)


Best Writer/Artist:

• Chabouté, Moby Dick (Dark Horse); AloneThe Park Bench (Gallery 13/Simon & Schuster)


Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team:

• David Rubín, Black Hammer #9 & #12, EtherSherlock Frankenstein #1–3 (Dark Horse); Beowulf (Image)


Best Coloring:

• David Rubín, EtherBlack HammerSherlock Frankenstein (Dark Horse); Beowulf (Image)
• Dave Stewart, Black HammerB.P.R.D: Devil You KnowHellboy: Into the Silent SeaSherlock FrankensteinThe Shaolin Cowboy (Dark Horse); Maestros (Image)

Congratulations to all the Eisner nominees for 2018!

Voting for the awards is held online. All professionals in the comic book industry are eligible to vote. The ballot will be available at EisnerVote.com. The results in all categories will be announced in a gala awards ceremony on the evening of Friday, July 20, at Comic-Con International.

About Dark Horse:

For more than thirty years, Dark Horse Comics has proven to be a solid example of how integrity and innovation can help broaden a unique storytelling medium and establish a small, homegrown company as an industry giant. Founded in 1986 by Mike Richardson, the company is known for the progressive and creator-friendly atmosphere it provides for writers and artists. In addition to publishing comics from top talent, such as Eric Powell, Mike Mignola, Geof Darrow, Brian Wood, Gail Simone, Stan Sakai, and Guillermo del Toro, and comics legends, such as Will Eisner, Milo Manara, Kazuo Koike, Neil Gaiman, and Frank Miller, Dark Horse has developed its own successful properties, such as The MaskGhostX, and Barb Wire. Its successful line of comics, manga, and products based on popular properties includes Dragon AgeBuffy the Vampire SlayerAliensConan, Tomb RaiderHaloThe Witcher,SerenityGame of Thrones, and Avatar: The Last Airbender. Today, Dark Horse Comics is the largest independent comic book publisher in the US and is recognized as one of the world’s leading entertainment publishers.

About Jason Bennett 4495 Articles
Jason Bennett is PopCultHQ's chief editor, a contributing writer, and comic book reviewer/reporter. One with the Force. Browncoats Unite! So say we all! Follow Jason on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram: @TahoeJBennett